“You don’t have to get it perfect, you just have to get it going.”

Getting started is often the hardest part

Getting started is often the hardest part

A small step in the whole scheme of things, but a giant leap for Katekind; I have finally created a blog. As I now approach the end of what ‘should’ be the final semester of my Media degree, I feel it’s time that I get writing. Yeah, I’m a bit late to the party. So I’ve finally realised that if one day I wish to get paid to write, I better get used to not getting paid to write, which is exactly what I intend to use this blog for.

As with most things I have undertaken or desired to undertake in my life, the overarching fear of failure has been the ultimate source of my procrastination and unwillingness to give things a go. Singing, acting, swimming, writing…the list is as long as the time I’ve wasted procrastinating over it all. While I’ve been fortunate to live a healthy and a privileged life to date, one ailment I have struggled to overcome has been ‘procrastination.’ Call it a first world problem or a more pragmatic term for the old ‘writer’s block’, procrastination is the foremost roadblock in the perfectionist’s quest for success and obviously, perfection.

As a self-proclaimed perfectionist, the pressing need to achieve and be recognised by others in a positive light has merely served to prevent me from the attempt of something alone. As the past 22 years of my life have passed by and I have sat agitatedly on the sideline waiting to become immersed in the action unfolding before my eyes, I have also let scores of opportunities pass me by. As this unhealthy attitude has reached a critical tipping point, I have begun to realise the missed shots I’ve accumulated, simply by not commencing with an ‘attempt’.

So here is my pledge: from now until whenever, I promise to my writer-wannabe self that I will put pen to paper (or, more accurately, fingers to keys) and churn out at least 200 words every day. These sets of 200 words, which will form a series of posts on this blog, will understandably be of varying quality, depending on my motivation levels and time commitment.

If I wish to be a writer, I do actually have to write, and here is a safe place to do so. Let’s hope my ailment doesn’t get the better of me, and my attempt right here, to produce words, which will form sentences, posts, commentaries, will hold me in good stead. To paraphrase Jack Canfield, the attempt is less about achieving perfection than it is about the attempt itself.

So within this blog will reside, some ado about everything.

Leave a Reply

